Getting my car running again!

3 Jul

One of the things I am looking forward to the most  is getting my car running again! It has been MUCH too long since I last tracked the car. It hasn’t even been taken onto the street for nearly 2 years now.

For those who don’t know the car, it is a 2003 Ford Focus ZX3 with the 2.3L Duratec engine.  As it sits right now it makes just over 160whp with I/H/E. I have it setup with some KW Variant 3’s and a huge Eibach rear anti-sway bar in the back.  One of the biggest things I had to take care of was a re-valving/rebuild on the shocks, which Chris Marion over at KW helped me out with! Thanks Chris!

I’ll start off slow with the project, with some new tires, fluids, etc.. Then take the car out to Streets of Willow for a warmup event. Hopefully whatever skills I used to have come back quickly! This will give me a good baseline for where the car and I stand, before I dive into future upgrades.

And it is a DECENT upgrade list, that will be addressed in stages:

Driveline: 4.06:1 final drive (compared to current 3.41); Quaife, Kaaz or Torsen LSD; and maybe a “Stage 1” clutch

(the final drive and LSD will help TREMENDOUSLY on a tight track like Streets of Willow. I’ve driven another 2.3L NA Focus with 4.06 final drive and LSD and the car pulled out of corners considerably faster than mine does now)

Engine (external): Cosworth Intake Manifold (unless FSWerks begins to offer an ITB setup…);larger throttle body;Crower Stage 2 cams w/Ti springs and retainers; ECU tune/programmer

I’m hoping that by this point, the engine will be producing just around 200whp.

Engine Internal: 12:1 Cosworth Pistons, aftermarket rods, bearings, etc

I hope to have the engine producing 215-220whp on 91 octane.. we’ll see if that is doable or not.

The project is going to take some time to complete, but that is part of the fun! I’ll be sure to blog all about it here!

My goal is to have the car be in the top tier of NA FWD cars out there, on STREET tires of course. R Compounds are not in the game plan until the car becomes dedicated to W2W racing.

Leave a Reply

