Spring is here!

28 Mar

I would say Spring is officially here in the High Desert of SoCal! Temps this week will be in the 70’s and 80’s, all week long. Plenty of sunshine!

The late winter rains jacked up our planned back yard work, so we’re gonna have to cram a TON of work into a short amount of time, and do work mid-week, which I HATE doing…

Yesterday I bought a semi-dwarf peach tree and a semi-dwarf plum tree, and we’ll be planting those this afternoon.

We finished raking and leveling the dirt on the side yard yesterday. I also capped and moved the sprinkler line to where the strawberry raised bed will be.

Tomorrow I’ll dig up the drainage pipes I installed a couple of months ago. I need to make the trenches deeper and put gravel in the bottom of the trench. I then need to sleeve the pipes to keep silt out. I’m going to connect the two existing pipes together, then extend the drain another 50′ down the side yard.

Later this week we’ll start laying bricks on the side yard as the edging between the path and beds. Lay the weed guard and lay the pavers around the rest of the yard. Saturday morning I’m finishing the raised bed for the strawberries and herbs, then we’re having rocks delivered Saturday afternoon for the paths. Sunday, we’re laying all of the rock out on the pathways.

We’ll have the weekend of the 9th-10th off from gardening… then get right back to it on the 15th-16th, with the delivery of our compost/planter mix, decomposed granite and river rocks. Looks like I won’t be able to do all of my garden planting until the weekend of the 23rd this year.  That’s fine though, as the seedlings are off to a great start in the green house!

 

Leave a Reply

