Planning the 2011 Spring/Summer garden

14 Jan

It’s that time of year to start the final planning for the 2011 spring/summer garden.

Here is the list of veggies and fruits we intend to plant this spring/summer:

Tomatoes (Roma, Cherry, Beefsteak, HotHouse, etc)
Hot Peppers (18)
Bell Peppers (18)
EggPlant
Yellow Onions
Bunching Onions
Several kinds of Carrots
Zucchini
Yellow Squash
Butternut Squash
Spaghetti Squash
Artichoke
Watermelon
Cantaloupe
Strawberries (added to a new raised bed, permanent)
Blueberries (planted in a large wooden cask/barrel, permanent)
Three kinds of potatoes
Green Beans
Fruit Salad Tree (Peaches, Apricots, Plums, Nectarines)(Permanent)
Multi Apple Tree (Permanent)

As you can see, that is a BUNCH of different plants. Surely our garden baskets will be overflowing this Spring/Summer! Our families and neighbors will benefit as well, as I know we won’t be able to eat all of this food. Great tasting food for our families and a TON of saved money compared to buying all of this produce at the store!

I’ll be starting my Tomato and eggplant seeds the first weekend of February. That will give the plants 10 weeks to grow nice and strong before I transplant them into the ground. Most of the other plants I will direct seed the first weekend of April.

My current crop of 18 determinate tomato plants should start producing fruit in the next 3-4 weeks (I hope), and be finished producing fruit just around the time my new crop go into the raised beds. I’ve learned my lesson on the tomatoes. This year, in order to keep a continuous supply of fruit coming, I’m going to start one batch in February, one in June, and another in September, almost every three-4 months. that way I always have fresh tomatoes to eat! 🙂

If the spring crop of potatoes goes well, I’ll plant a fall crop around June/July. I think the family would love fresh potatoes for Thanksgiving and Christmas!

And also new for this year, I’m going to keep a journal/record of how many pieces of each veggie/fruit we harvest and the total weight as well. This will give a accurate idea of just how much we can produce in our backyard!

Leave a Reply

