Compost bin almost done

27 Nov

I built the frame of the compost bin today using scrap 2×4’s. The dimensions are 40″ x 40″ x 40″, which should make for a decent amount of compost in a few months. I also picked up two large bags of leaves from my Dad’s house to begin the pile with. With the weather finally turning cold, there are TONS of leaves everywhere, so I’ll have no shortage of compostable material to use.

I’m really looking forward to having a bunch of compost to use come Spring planting time. Same goes for having compost available to make compost tea, perfect for feeding the plants every week. From what I’ve seen on the web, I should expect a HUGE increase in crop yield! ๐Ÿ™‚ And it sure beats buying fertilizer, for both the $$$$ savings and the “non organic” nature of chemical fertilizers.

I also moved all 33 of the pepper seedlings out into the greenhouse this afternoon. I’m hoping they respond well to the increased ambient temps and humidity of the greenhouse compared to the garage. Even though they’ll be receiving less sunlight, I think they’ll like the heat. I figure I’ll give the tomato seedlings another week before moving them out into the greenhouse.

Tomorrow I’ll be riding quads with my father in law out at El Mirage dry lake and the surrounding mountains/trails. It’s going to be a bit chilly in the morning, but should be fantastic weather otherwise!

Leave a Reply

